Hovering

“Don’t let my uniform scare you love, my name’s Andy, you’re going to be okay! I’m staying with you until we can get you some help.”

“I want to go home”

“I know, but we have to wait until Leslie arrives, You can’t drive right now.”

“Who’s Leslie and how long will she be, I feel sick and I want to go home. What time is it, my mam and dad will be worried.” June whimpered.

“I can see you aren’t feeling well. Are you sure you weren’t drinking? You’re not in trouble or anything. I just want to know why  you’re so sick.Leslie is a female Police Officer, I think you’ll feel more comfortable with her than me.”

“I need you to call my dad! He’ll be out looking for me.”

“We’ve let him know you’re OK. He called the station last night when you didn’t make it home.”

“I tried to call him, I wanted him to pick me up, because I daren’t drive in the fog, I couldn’t see. I’ve just passed my driving test. I tried to walk home. Don’t know how I ended up back in my car again. I don’t remember. What time is it?”

“Four o clock, you’ve been gone a while. Was anyone else with you?”

“No! I didn’t see anyone anyway, but I think there was someone. I felt someone!”

June threw up again.  She shivered so badly her teeth chattered. The young Police Officer was concerned and ran to his patrol car and came back with his jacket. He placed gently around her shoulders.

He spoke into his phone again, “How far away are you Leslie? I’m calling an ambulance. She’s sick, really sick.”

Slumped in her seat, June was barely conscious, her hair stuck to her ghostly pale face. The phone buzzed again, Andy picked it up.

“PC Andy Webster here. Yes, I’m with her now, she’s sick! I’ve called an ambulance and a WPC. Meet us at the hospital in Warrens Heath.”

The ambulance raced along the road sirens blaring. Far above, not visible to the human eye, a spaceship hovered. June was carrying something important, something they needed. No harm could come to her, they wouldn’t allow it.

Spaceship

Leave a Reply

