The Icy Grip of Death!

I hit the ground hard. Gasping for breath I sat up. Help! Where am I. I heard the screeching of brakes and smelled burning rubber. Glass shattered. Where am I?

I was light-headed and my vision was blurry. A nebulous shadow hovered in front of me.

And then I saw smoke rings.

smoke rings

The smoking man looked down at me and smiled. I shivered as I felt his love overpower me.

“Its time to come with me. I’ve waited so long.”

He sad eyes filled with longing. This man’s life had ended a long time ago, but he couldn’t rest, he was waiting for someone. Surely he wasn’t waiting for me. I didn’t know him.

“I don’t know you. Why do you want me?”

I was cold, shivering, but I knew I was still alive and I wanted to stay that way. I tried to stand, but I was weak and oh so tired. Fight it, come on, fight it now.

The tinkling of bells seemed far away, but I heard them. Rings on her fingers and bells on her toes, from where she comes, nobody knows…

The beautiful face of the young gypsy girl filled my thoughts. I smelled roses and lavender! My body was light. A tingling started in my chest and radiated through my body. It was a happy feeling. Can this be death? Am I dying? If I am I like it!

Then a dark oppressive presence overshadowed me. The tingling stopped. The smoking man looked behind me. Anger spread across his face and for the first time I heard him speak. His words were angry.

“Leave us be, its time to leave us be!”

Icy fingers surrounded my heart. It was more than fear, it was death!

To read my first novel go to Dead of July

2 thoughts on “The Icy Grip of Death!

Leave a Reply

