Get Rid of Him … Rock On… with the DEAD!

Richmond at nightWe finished our drinks and walked back to my flat are in arm. Pete was easy to be around. I enjoyed his company even more after we stopped dating.

“Do you want a cup of coffee or anything?” I asked.

“No thanks! I may jump in the bath though, I still feel grimy from work, want to join me?”

I didn’t answer, just threw a clean towel at him, and a robe he’d left here over a year ago.

I opened the window in my bedroom, enjoying the cool breeze. It was quiet outside, the rides and their music, had to shut down at then o clock during the week. They made up for it on Friday and Saturday, when the little market town rock and rolled until midnight. I made myself a cup of Horlicks, I needed to sleep and it usually helped.

Pete emerged from the bathroom in a halo of steam, smelling fresh and looking relaxed.

“I think you’ve lost weight, that robe was much more snug last time you wore it.”

His face beamed at the compliment. “You’re the only person who’s noticed, I’ve started running, and I work out.”

He made to open his robe, “want a closer look?” he asked hopefully.

I turned my head and held up my hand. “Stop now!” In truth I was tempted to look. I’d always have a soft spot for Pete. I think all his ex girlfriends would (and there were a lot of them) he was that kind of guy.

He looked at the sofa. “How about you let me in your bed? I promise I won’t touch you. Well maybe a cuddle, but the sofa is too short, I’ll never sleep on it.”

“OK, you can sleep with me, no cuddles though, and no wandering hands. Please put something on, I don’t want to wake up and see you naked! I think there is still some of your underwear in the top drawer; I never got around to………”

I never finished my sentence. The bedroom door slammed shut and I heard what sounded like laughter.

“What the heck?” Pete looked alarmed.

“I opened the bedroom window, I’m sure it’s just the wind.”

“Oh and the wind has developed a laugh now has it?”

We walked together towards the bedroom door and I stood back while Pete opened it and went in.

“It’s safe,” he said putting the light on.

“Why wouldn’t it be, its my bedroom, I’m on the second floor, if anyone came in here they’d have to walk through the living room and I didn’t see anyone, did you?”

“You told me you were being seduced by a ghost….”he continued talking, but I wasn’t listening. I was mesmerized by the music wafting through the window.

The darkening streets outside were beckoning me.

Hey kid, rock and roll
Rock on, ooh, my soul
Hey kid, boogey too, did ya

Hey shout, summertime blues
Jump up and down in my blue suede shoes
Hey kid, rock and roll, rock on

And where do we go from here
Which is the way that’s clear

Get rid of him…tonight should be ours………….Rock on! Lets Rock On!

Check out my other blog Travel Tales and Mishaps.

Also take a look at the reviews of my first novel on Amazon Dead of July.

Leave a Reply

