Lucky Heather? Or NOT!

Lucky heatherPete listened intently without interrupting. He was very interested in the beautiful gypsy girl I’d seen just before he showed up.

“How come I didn’t see her?” he asked.

“I told you she vanished.”

“Its going to take another drink or two for me to get my head around this,” he said, “I’ll buy this time, another Brandy and Coke?”

I nodded, telling my story had taken some effort, but Pete hadn’t laughed, not yet anyway.

I rested back in my chair and shut my eyes, wanting to block the world out for a while. Was there really a  handsome, intoxicating, stranger in a shabby black leather jacket, or was I imagining him? Maybe I’d been working too hard, or drinking too much, or both. Oh let him be real, he’s exciting. I want him to be real. 

Something landed on my lap, jerking me back to reality. I stifled a scream when I saw a tiny bunch of purple heather lying there.

“Jesus Christ, what the hell?” I said a little too loudly.

“Hey calm down, sorry, I didn’t mean to startle you. I just brought you some lucky heather, thought it might make you feel better.”

“You bloody moron, where did you get this?” I stood up so quickly I knocked over the chair I’d been sitting on. “Where is she?”

“Where’s who?”

“The goddamn gypsy, the one who sold you this, the one who turned into a beautiful young woman before disappearing. Is she here?”

Everyone looked at us to see what all the fuss was about.

“Calm down,” Pete said as he set the chair back up on all four legs, “I didn’t buy the heather off anyone, it was lying on the bar. I thought you’d like it.”

I almost fell back down onto my chair and took a big gulp of my drink.

“You really are a bag of nerves. Why don’t I stay at your place tonight, I think you need the company.”

I emptied my glass without even tasting its contents. Pete pushed his drink across the table in my direction. “Here, drink this, I’ll get two more.” He said and went back to the bar.

I looked at the heather which now lay on the table. This wasn’t a coincidence. Someone was sending me a message. What the hell was going on? Not wanting to touch it, I bent down and sniffed at it, no idea why. It was fragrant, almost overpowering, making me feel weak and dizzy. Or was that the Brandy?

“Here, I think this should be your last drink, you’re at work tomorrow aren’t you?”

I looked up at my ex boyfriend. “I’d like it if you stayed at my place tonight. Would you mind?”

Pete smiled in a way that made him irresistible. It was the smile that got him, and whoever he was with, into trouble. I laughed out loud. “Don’t get any ideas, you’re sleeping on the sofa. Don’t even thing of trying anything, I need protecting, not molesting.”

“I’ll be your knight in shining armor, no ghost will seduce you tonight. “Drink up, let’s get you to bed,” he said hopefully.

I can’t lie, I’m enjoying this story. it reminds me of a young girl that used to live in North Yorkshire a long time ago. All of the characters I use in my blogs, and in my novel, are based on memories and people I knew. Bringing them to life again (yes some of them are no longer with us), makes me smile. Life passes too quickly. I want to remember my past, enjoy the present, and look forward to the future. We’re all dead a long time.

If you’d like to try my novel ‘Dead of July’, its available on Amazon for $0.99. Yes it’s cheap, but when you write your first novel, no one knows you. Cheap is good!

Dead of July

Leave a Reply

