Daemon in the Dark

BadboyMy bedroom was cold, so cold I could see my breath. Pulling the covers tightly around me, I snuggled back onto my pillow. The street light cast an orange glow through my curtains, and then it went out. It must be 3am! Darkness filled my room.

The silence was broken only by my heartbeat. It was beating fast, anticipating something I knew nothing about. The room was still!

I heard the sound of a motorbike.

Who would be out riding at this time?

It got closer. I heard it speeding along the narrow streets until it finally entered the market square. The noise bounced off stone buildings. It was loud and exciting. It thrilled and hypnotized me. I wanted to ride. Was I still dreaming?

I leapt out of bed, no longer conscious of the cold it. Throwing on some clothes and grabbing a pair of shoes, I ran barefoot down the stairs, slamming the door behind me. I stood still long enough to slip my bare feet into my shoes, and then ran towards the sound of the idling engine……Hello Baby! Where was the music coming from?

Beneath the one remaining street light was growling speed machine. When I approached the rider looked up at me. The music got louder…

Chantilly lace and a pretty face
And a pony tail hanging down
That wiggle in the walk and giggle in the talk
Makes the world go round
There ain’t nothing in the world like a big eyed girl
That makes me act so funny, make me spend my money
Make me feel real loose like a long-necked goose
Like a girl, oh baby that’s what I like

He rode towards me, slowly. I held my breath. It was him! The man from the car park, the face in the mirror at the bar, the bad boy I’d danced with in my dreams. He was real and he’d come for me.

The bike sped past me, then slowed down and turned around. He was playing games I liked it. I turned around to face him and he smiled at me. A smile that melted my heart! He revved the engine and came towards me again. I didn’t step aside. I wasn’t scared! He blew right past me.

“Come back, I’m sorry don’t leave me.”

Who said that? I looked around confused. I hadn’t spoken.

The sound of my alarm clock screamed in my ear. It was 7am and time to get up. Why did I feel so tired? I swung my legs off the bed and looked down at my feet. I’d gone to bed with my shoes on? Clothes lay around the room as though I’d undressed in a hurry, and left my shoes on?

Oh Baby that’s what I like?

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

Hope you’re enjoying my bad boy story. It was inspired by David Essex from back in the day. I thought about him and then thought about this story. Rock On! Remember that song?

Dead of July, my first novel, is available on Amazon for $0.99, give it a try.

Leave a Reply

