Jimmy Dean – James Dean – Rock On!

James-Dean-Smile-150x150I couldn’t take my eyes off his reflection in the mirror. He was a handsome vision of good and bad all rolled into one gorgeous package, and he was looking at me. ME!

“Something wrong love?” It was the barman who spoke.

“What, no, I’m okay,” I said without taking my eyes of the face in the mirror. The crooked grin widened. I smiled back. I was under his spell. Who was he? Without knowing what I would say I took a deep breath and turned around. He was gone. Was he playing a game with me? The pub door swung shut and I ran towards it. I had to know who he was. I had to speak to him. The street was empty. Where did he go? A cruel game! Where are you, who are you?

I walked back inside, hurt and confused.

“Where’d you go?” Cindy asked, “Your foods getting cold. Are you all right? You look like you found a pound and lost a fiver.”

“I’m fine. I did lose something though. Did you see a guy sitting at the bar?”

“I saw a couple of guys sitting at the bar, anyone in particular.”

“Black hair, white tee-shirt, handsome?”

Cindy looked at me quizzically, “Not the same guy you claim to have seen in the car park this morning?”

I hung my head. “Yes, the same one.”

George began to laugh. “Are you conjuring up yourself an imaginary boyfriend?”

“Believe me, if I could conjure up someone who looked like him, I’d be happy for the rest of my life.”

The laugher lightened my mood. We ordered another round of drinks and enjoyed our food, but I kept my eye on the door, hoping he’d come back.

“Come on, we need to get out of here, I’d love another drink, but we’ve got another tough day at work tomorrow. I hope Jan comes in and does her share. Do you want us to walk you home?”

“No, I’m fine. Maybe I’ll run in to a handsome stranger.” I said hopefully.

There was no handsome stranger on my way home. I went to bed disappointed. Was I falling in love with a figment of my own imagination? I’d not dated anyone for quite some time, but wasn’t worried about it. My life was full of friends, travel, parties and work. I didn’t need a man in my life, well not until now. The song I’d heard in the bar was still ringing in my head, it lulled me to sleep. I dreamed of James Dean!

Hey did you rock and roll, rock on, oh my soul.

Hey did you boogie too, did you?

My first novel Dead of July is available on Amazon. A bargain at $0.99, yes thats less than a British pound.

Dead of July by Sandra ThompsonI’d love to hear from  you after you’ve it. A review on Amazon would be even better.

Stay tuned for the next installment of my blog story.  

Leave a Reply

