Hey Did You Rock and Roll? Rock On!

The smoke ring faded and disappeared. Had it really been there?

“Come on let’s get on with those reports, it’s going to be a long day,” Cindy said, “I’m not best pleased with Jan taking the day off. Can you work late if I need you to?”

“Sure, I could do with the extra money.”

“I bet you could, you’re off to Rimini again this year aren’t you?”

I breathed deeply and smiled, “Yes, sunshine and sand for two weeks. I can’t wait.”

“You’re obsessed with Italy!” Cindy said shaking her head.

“Yup, I think I must have been Italian in a previous life.”

I sat at my desk and began thumbing through computer printouts, the smoking man was soon forgotten.The day passed slowly, but by six thirty we were done.

“Do you want to join George and I in the Black Lion? Can’t be bothered to cook tonight so we’re going to grab a bite there?”

“Are you sure you don’t mind?”

“No, I wouldn’t have asked if I did. It’s my treat too, you worked hard today, you earned it.”

The Black Lion was only a five-minute walk across the cobbled streets.

George was waiting for us at a table by the fire. It was cozy. He ordered gin and tonics for Cindy and I, and another half of bitter for himself.

“Not a bad way to end a Monday is it?” he said.

“No, it’s not. Wish it was Friday though. I’m going to put some music on the jukebox. Be back in a minute.”

I fed some money into the machine and thumbed through the tunes, picking out my favorites, David Bowie, The Kinks, Elton John, what else? That’s when the jukebox came to life and selected the fourth song for me. I was about to complain to the barman, but something caught my eye. I saw a face reflected in the mirror behind the bar. A handsome face, and it was smiling at me. Tantalizing eyes were framed by jet black wavy hair, a strand of which fell across his forehead. He wore a white tee-shirt and a crooked grin. I saw you this morning in the park. I could barely breathe, so powerful was his presence. That’s when the music started, a song I’d never heard before, a song I never wanted to stop.

Love bringing music into my stories, it sets the atmosphere. I think I’m going to fall in love with this guy, but who is he and where did he come from?

Check out my first novel Dead of July which is available on Amazon and Smashwords.

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

Leave a Reply

