The Smoking Man

I saw him first on a Monday morning. Why I paid attention to him I don’t know, well maybe I do. A striking figure, he sat on a bench the rose garden  smoking a cigarette. He wore a black leather jacket, open at the front. It was a cold morning in North Yorkshire. Spring hadn’t quite turned into summer and a slight frost glistened on the grass. It was much too cold to sit outside and smoke.

I hurried into the office, my breath making clouds in the cold air.

“Morning sunshine, I just put a cup of coffee on your desk” my bosses husband greeted me as he left to make his rent collecting rounds for the day.

“Morning, thanks, mind how you go,” I answered as the door shut behind him.

My boss, Cindy, met me in the door way of our office. “I’m going up to finance, I’ll be back in half an hour or so, Jan isn’t coming in. Tummy bug, or too much brandy over the weekend, see you in a bit.”

I grabbed my coffee and walked over to the window, enjoying the view of the hills and greenery that surrounded the sleepy little market town. I looked down to the park, a place I often sat in the summer, enjoying a sandwich from the local bakery. A thin wisp of smoke floated in the air. I’d forgotten about the smoking man.

The door opened behind me and Cindy appeared. “Hi, seems everyone’s late this morning, I’ll grab another coffee and try again in half an hour. What are you looking at?”

I turned back to the window “There’s a bloke sitting out there chain-smoking. He must be freezing.”

Cindy followed my gaze. “I don’t see anyone.”

I looked again. “He was there a minute ago.” I put my cup down and walked closer to the window, my breath clouding the glass. Sure enough the smoking man was gone, but not completely. A perfect smoke ring hovered above the bench, the only evidence he’d ever been there.

74232-CIkIDgiKe_8uvhyAbs8ecQ

Yes, another story has escaped my tormented brain, where’s this one going? if you know the answer you’re better than me. My stories enter my head in installments…..you could say I have episodes! Keep following, it may be a fun ride. Check out my first novel on Amazon. Bargain at $0.99. When I’m famous I’ll charge much more. Stephen King started cheap too. I write for fun, any profit I make is a bonus. 

Dead of July

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

2 thoughts on “The Smoking Man

Leave a Reply

