Inferno

burning-buildingLindsay jumped as a hand rested on her shoulder. “Sorry I didn’t mean to scare you, but I don’t think you should be here. You don’t need to see this.” It was a local Policeman, Lindsay recognized him immediately.

“But my friends are in there,” she whispered, watching the flames in disbelief. Firefighters broke down the door, retreating momentarily as the flames escaped, reaching out gobble the new supply of oxygen.

I wonder why the door was locked. Lindsay thought.

“No one can go in there right now. It’s an inferno.”

She turned around as another fire engine pulled up behind her, firefighters jumping off before it even stopped, pointing their huge hoses into the flames.

The Policeman put his arm around her. “If you were in there tonight you had a lucky escape.”

“I left early. I didn’t stay for the last dance.”

“If you had, you’d be fighting for your life now. Go home!”

“I can’t.” she said, I need to be here. “My friends….”

“No you don’t, you can’t do anything to help anyone. Pretty soon this place will be a zoo with reporters, come on, let me give you a ride. I’ll need a statement from you, but that can wait until tomorrow. Did you see anything?”

“No, I was halfway down the road when I heard the explosion, well three explosions actually, but I didn’t see anything other than flames?” Lindsay said.

“Okay, let’s get you home, I’ll stop by and set you tomorrow. You live in the village don’t you?”

“Yes!”

Lindsay allowed herself to be let to the Police car, hardly able to comprehend what was happening.

“What’s you address love?”

“13 Malpass Road, turn left and its the first building on the left. Just after the playing fields.”

When the car came to a stop outside Lindsay’s apartment, she sat in the passenger seat, unable to move.

“Do you want me to come in with you? Is there someone I can call?”

“No, I’ll be fine,” she answered, “I can call my brother if I need to, he lives in town. My parents are in France. I’ll be fine though.”

“Okay, well if you’re sure. Here’s my card. Call me if you need to. I’ll be back to talk to you tomorrow. I’m sure the local news will be covering this, but don’t watch it too much. The make everything sound much worse than it is.”

“Alright thanks.”

The Police car remained outside while Lindsay let herself into her apartment. She locked and bolted the door after her, feeling  nervous, although she didn’t know why.

Just after the Police car pulled away, another car pulled slowly into her street parking across the road. The passengers remained inside, settling in their seats as though to sleep.

That’s odd! She hadn’t seen that car in street before, but something about it was familiar.

I’m not sure if writing is a hobby or obsession for me, but I just can’t stop doing it. I hope you enjoy my new blog story. My novel Dead of July is still available on Amazon. Give it a try!

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

 

Leave a Reply

