Evil Possession – Dark Angel

Time stood still. I daren’t move, daren’t speak, hardly dared to breathe. The room was filled with a different sort of energy. I felt it! It was good energy. Was this another trick? I kept my eyes closed.

“What happened here?” A soft voice said. “What happened in this room?”

The words took me by surprise, so did the gentle voice. I opened my eyes to see the tall dark man remove his hat revealing a mess of black curly hair and a face wrinkled with laugher lines.

Jeff stood up “Father Angelo,” he said “My prayers were answered, you came.”

“Don’t pretend you believe in God young man, I know you’re a doubter. We almost had you once. You’d have been happy in the church, but your doubts prevented you from staying.”

Jeff laughed. “I doubt, but I don’t disbelieve.”

ExorcismI sat up and looked at them both. “Can I get out of this circle now? Will I be safe?”

It didn’t take many steps for Father Angelo to cross the room to where I sat on the floor. He was well over six feet tall. He bent down and helped me to my feet. “You must be Lucy, its good to meet you. I see young Jeff still plays with runes and candles. Come, lets sit.”

Jeff’s face beamed with admiration and affection. He and the Father were obviously friends. I sensed a history. Although I was happy to have someone else here to help, I worried about putting another life in danger. Was my life worth risking that of these two good men. I doubted it.

Father Angelo produced two bottles of red wine from somewhere inside his huge coat, and while Jeff opened one he sat opposite me. He didn’t speak, but took my hands in his, closing his eyes. After a minute or so, he opened them again and looked around the room.

“When did your troubles start?” he asked.

“After the car crash, I almost died. I should have died, but a shape appeared above me, an angel.”

Jeff interrupted, “Father, it was a dark Angel.”

“Let her tell her story, go on Lucy, what happened next?”

“The Angel spared my life and allowed the truck driver to die. I think she killed my dad. She did something to Reverend Laybourn. I think she wants to kill me now.”

“When did you move into this apartment?” Father Angelo asked.

“A little over a year ago, a month before my accident.”

Father  Angelo took a big gulp of his wine and swirled it around in his mouth savoring it. He closed his eyes and swallowed. “I think your apartment is the problem. Something dark lives here and it wants to live through you, to possess you. I can feel it.

“How can you know such a thing? ” I asked, “you just got here.”

“I felt it as soon as I got out of my car, before I even entered the building.”

I remembered Reverend Laybourn and the look on his face as he lay in the road after being hit by a car. Maybe he felt it too. “What if I move? I’ll find somewhere else to live.”

Father Angelo laughed. “That won’t help you now. This has already gone too far. We have to deal with this and deal with it quickly before we lose you.”

Jeff sat next to me and put his arm around me. “We’ll get through this, be brave.”

I wasn’t so sure. The room was silent now, but I knew I wasn’t safe. Something evil lingered in a corner waiting for me. Waiting to seduce me into another world. It was clever and beguiling and I didn’t know how much longer I could fight it. I didn’t know how much longer I wanted to.

My first novel ‘Dead of July’ is currently available on Amazon and SmashWords.

Watch out for my short story ‘Fire and Darkness’ which will be released at the end of the year.

Dead of July – Amazon

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

3 thoughts on “Evil Possession – Dark Angel

Leave a Reply

