Snatched back from Hell! – Dark Angel

Paul-Nulty-Lighting-Design-100W-Challenge-2014-2In the far corners of my mind someone called my name. I wanted to ignore it and sink into the rapturous comfort that tugged me ever downwards. My body tingled in anticipation of what awaited. The voice was insistent. “Lucy, fight it, it’s a trick. FIGHT, come back to me. Lucy, come back.”

Another voice goaded me. Lucy, come to me, don’t you feel good. Let me explore your mind and body, come to me now. The voice was erotic. Sparks of light flashed though my brain. I was gripped with excitement. “I’m coming.” I replied.

I was almost there, lost to reality, sinking in a world of pleasure and greed. I stopped. Jeff’s voice was distant now, hardly a whisper. Sinking, sinking, slowly, and then I stopped. A foul smell surrounded me, a smell of death and decay. I didn’t want to be here, something was wrong.

Almost there now, close your eyes and stay with me. The foul smell faded.

I heard wood splintering as my bedroom door burst open. My eyes refused to open, the air I breathed was dense. Finally, I forced my eyes open, I could barely see Jeff, even though he stood in front of me.

He pulled me from the bed, but cold invisible hands gripped me from behind, long nails digging into my flesh. Stay with me! I want you to stay with me forever, I’m not done with you, there’s a place for you with me.

Jeff was chanting again, I felt him getting stronger, my body started to rise as he lifted me into his arms and held me close. Everything faded away. I don’t know how much time passed, but I opened my eyes again to find myself lying on a bed of cushions in the middle of my living room floor, candles and incense burned all around me. Jeff sat on the sofa, a book open on his lap. His lips moved, but he read silently. Sensing I was awake, he looked at me and smiled. I was alarmed at the dark smudges beneath his eyes. This fight was killing him.

“Don’t move,” he said, “stay just where you are, you’re safe there.”

Shadows danced on the ceiling, taking shapes I didn’t want to see, so I closed my eyes. A voice close to me whispered.

I’ll keep you safe, I’m still here. That fool can’t steal you away from me. 

The foul smell returned briefly and then was gone. I opened my eyes again and “Jeff, whats going to happen to me? I can’t stay here forever.”

The door to my apartment opened slowly and a huge dark figure filled the opening. I closed my eyes, not wanting to see what evil had come for me now. “Dear God please help us.” I whispered.

Dead of July

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

 

 

Leave a Reply

