Dark Angel – The Chant

Indian ChantWhen Jeff got back from the hospital he found me sitting on the sofa in the darkness, still looking at the bottle of wine.

“You don’t like to drink alone then?” he asked.

“I did drink alone, this is the second bottle,” I said.

He came and sat down beside me, and put his arms around me, hugging me gently as though I might break. “None of this is your fault.”

“How can you say that?” I sobbed. “I was spared, while a man was allowed to die. My dad is dead. Reverend Laybourn just wanted to help me and now he’s in hospital. He’s still alive isn’t he? Please tell me he’s still alive.”

“Yes he’s going to be fine; he has God on his side remember. He’s shaken, and has a fractured wrist from his fall, but he’ll live to preach another day.”

“He looked awful when you went down to him. I was sure he was going to die.”

“He was in shock, that’s all. I should have stayed here with you instead of going to the hospital. You look worse than the Reverend.”

Jeff got a glass and poured himself some wine.

“She visited me while you were gone, she’s not finished with me yet, I’m scared. What can I do? How can I end this? Who is she going to turn on next? It could be you, it could be my mum. I’m the one that should be suffering, no one else.”

“Lucy, you are suffering. Look at you. Don’t give up, we need to stop this. If we let her win, she’ll move on to someone else and this awful nightmare will start all over again. More people will suffer. She needs to be stopped.”

The room temperature dropped again.

“Try and stop me if you dare. You are weak pathetic humans who pray to a weak ineffective god. You have no chance. I am everything, I am everywhere. I toy with you because I can, because I want to. It pleasures me. When I’m done with you I’ll cast you aside and you’ll beg me to take you back.”

I felt her hands on me again. She touched and prodded as though she were looking for something. I felt coldness surround my heart.

“Ahhhhh, it still beats, it beats for me.” she hissed.

There was pressure on my chest, and then, to my horror, I felt her lips on mine and her breath in my mouth.

“Jeff!” I screamed. “Help me.”

My glass exploded as the water that filled it turned to ice. Cold fingers grasped my ankles and I was pulled to the floor. Jeff grabbed me around the waist, pulling me back to him as began to chant  a prayer I’d never heard in a language I didn’t recognize.

“What is that noise? Stop! It pains my ears.”

The grip on my ankles was released briefly, and then got tighter.

“Your stupid Native American spells don’t hurt me. They won’t help you neither.”

Jeff kept hold of me and continued to chant. I heard my name mixed in with words that had no meaning. The grip on my ankles eased slightly and I used my elbows to lever myself off the floor and back onto the sofa, kicking hard at the invisible force that held me. The room grew warmer.

“I’m not done yet, I’ll be back when you don’t expect me. You owe me girl, and I’m going to collect. I’ll take you slowly. When you have suffered more than you ever thought you could, I’ll take you for my own. I’ll enjoy you.”

There was a deep sigh and then silence. Jeff was pale and exhausted. I put my arms around him.

“You saved my life.” I told him.

He slumped in my arms, unable to speak. I wasn’t sure what had just happened, but it had sapped his energy.

I held him close and picked up the glass of wine he’d been drinking. I finished it in one gulp.

I owed my life to this man. I hope he didn’t have to pay with his own.

 

Click link below if you would like to read my first full length novel. It was fun to write and I’ve been told its fun to read. Give it a try.

Dead of July – A German Ghost Story 

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

