Dark Shadow – Death of Everyone You Love!

death-04

I awoke the following morning to the sound of my apartment door closing. Looking at the clock I saw it was 5:30am. Was Jeff leaving already? I smelled coffee so I donned my robe and made my way to the kitchen. There was a note on the countertop. I took your spare key in case you are still at work when I get back. The thought of Jeff coming back gave me a warm feeling. Was it because I felt safe when he was around, or maybe I had feelings for him. I always had a soft spot for him, even back in the day when he walked the streets and everyone thought him crazy. He wasn’t crazy, just different, I knew how that felt.

Pouring myself a cup of coffee I walked across to the window. This was the place I stood when I first saw the Dark Angel after leaving hospital. I shivered; it was the day my dad was killed in a car crash. Damn you! I said to myself. I will not let you take any more lives.

Try and stop me!

Did I really hear someone whisper in my ear?

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name……….. I recited the Lord’s Prayer, not knowing what else to do, but feeling like I needed to do something. No more whispers, it was probably my imagination.

I didn’t feel the least bit like going to work but I had bills to pay, so after finishing my coffee, I jumped in the shower. I was on edge.

Was I being watched? Where was the Dark Angel when I didn’t see her? Was she watching me?

My work day was long; I watched the hours tick slowly by until five o clock finally came around. When I arrived home Jeff was waiting for me. “I brought food,” he said, “Chinese, I remember you used to like Chinese food.”

“Oh yea, we went to that little Chinese Restaurant in Richmond once right! I’d forgotten.”

“You bought me dinner. You were kind to me when no-one else would talk to me.”

“You didn’t have many friends back then did you Jeff?”

“Still don’t,” he said as he set the table.

A chilling breeze tormented my ear, a breeze that whispered Oh you like him don’t you, killing him is going to be fun.”

I looked at Jeff, terror obvious on my face. Was I losing me mind?

“What’s wrong?” he asked.

“Did you hear that?” I asked, “did you hear someone whisper.” I was shaking.

“No, what did they say?”

I burst into tears. “It’s the Dark Angel. She wants to kill you. You have to stop helping me, go home.”

 

If you like my blog, try out my first novel Dead of July – A German Ghost Story. Also available on Smashwords – Dead of July

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

I’m still an old newbie to the world of writing, and marketing isn’t my thing. If you read my book, and enjoy it, please spread the word. I’d love a comment on my blog to let me know what you think, even better, a review on Amazon.

If you’re enjoying my blog story, let me know. I need any encouragement you have to offer.

 

Leave a Reply

