Death Makes Me STRONGER – Dark Angel

Dark Shadow

I was glad when the priest left, his blather made me uncomfortable. He barely touched his wine, but I drank plenty. His words rang in my head painfully:

Lucy listen to me, you’re not possessed, but strongly influenced by something. I see darkness all around you and you must break free. I don’t want to lose you. Think of your mother. Is this what your father would have wanted? May god help you and protect you, may the power of the lord……..blah blah blah”

I spoke very little and made the pretence of listening, but all I wanted was this man out of my house. His presence put violent thoughts into my head. I wondered what it would be like to smash the wine bottle and push it into his face. That would shut him up. I squeezed my eyes tightly shut and pretended to pray. I didn’t want to think anymore. What was happening to me? Finally he stopped talking and stood up to leave.

“Will you come to church on Sunday?”

“Yes.” I hissed, anything to shut him up and get him out of my home. I looked into his eyes and saw sadness, for a moment I felt pity for him. He was trying to help me. Who was I? I didn’t know anymore. When Reverend Laybourn left my house the door slammed behind him without my touching it. I wanted him gone, but someone else wanted him gone more. I watched out of the window as he walked down the road, his shoulders slumped. He looked defeated. I breathed deeply, pushing the darkness from my heart, I was myself again. How long for I didn’t know.

“Please spare this man, he’s only trying to help me.” I said softly to no one.

The priest disappeared from view, but there was a reflection in the window looking back at me, a reflection with wings.

“I won’t harm this man. I don’t cause death, but I am attracted to it, DEATH MAKES ME STRONGER.” Sly, chilling laughter accompanied these words. Words that echoed all around me! 

I knew I was in trouble, maybe I would go to church after all!

DEAD OF JULY

Another great read by Sandra Thompson

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

 

 

Leave a Reply

