Delayed Tragedy – Angel of the Night

Three months passed and my body healed. Dampness and rain made my bones ache, but for the most part my recovery was complete. Had the Dark Angel left me? I hoped so. I searched the shadows in the darkest corners of my room, but none of them bore wings. Dare I hope the evil winged one had moved on to someone else? My relief was short-lived. I sat in the window seat of my little apartment, listening to the breeze rustling through the leaves of the Aspen Trees. Leaves that were just beginning to turn gold, when the phone rang.

“Hello sugar, your dad forgot to bring the chocolate cake I made for you.” I’ll pop by with it in the morning if that’s OK.

It was my mam’s voice.

“Alright, I think I can wait until tomorrow for a piece of chocolate cake.  I didn’t know he was coming to see me tonight, did he just set off?” I asked

“No, he left about an hour ago, maybe he stopped off at the pub on the way. He thinks I don’t know that he pops in for a sneaky half of bitter sometimes. He’ll be there soon.” My mam replied and laughed.

“I’ll smell his breath when he arrives,” I said as I looked out of the window. Then I froze and almost dropped the phone.

“Lucy, are you still there?”

“Yes mum, I’ll call you back when dad arrives.” I said trying not to show the fear in my voice.

Across the road in the fading light stood the solitary figure of my dad. He was overshadowed by the dark awful image of an angel, a dark angel. Her wingspan was huge and everything beneath it shrivelled and died. A shower of leaves fluttered to the ground and instantly turned to dust.

I closed my eyes and and prayed my dad was safe. When I opened them again, I saw only falling leaves. I waited and waited, but my dad never came.

autumn

 

My first novel Dead of July is available on amazon.

http://amzn.to/1aXh4Md

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

8 thoughts on “Delayed Tragedy – Angel of the Night

  1. I truly love this Sandra! Your writing truly speaks to me. You know I live with a ghost, so… 😉 I am glad you are writing again. The world is a better place because you do!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. I love writing. You should tell me about your ghost sometime. I’ve been followed by them all of my life.

      • I now live in my grand mother’s old town house. I was very close to her and I know she still haunts the place watching over me. Manifestations aren’t as obvious these days, but she’s moved furniture, opened windows… She was very thrift and, to this day, the shower’s temperature control is still tempered with from one day to the next… At least one could say I’m in a relationship… 😉

Leave a Reply

