I’m Alive!

I opened my eyes, but saw nothing. Was I blind? I was confused! Where am I? 

And then I remembered the tornado, the crash, my death. My death? Where did that thought come from? My eyes began to focus and I recognized the stark impersonal surroundings. I was in hospital. My legs were elevated and wrapped in bandages. At least I have still have them. I thought. My back hurt a little, and my shoulder, but it was bearable. What am I forgetting? A memory scratched at the inside of my head, but I didn’t know what it was. Maybe I didn’t want to remember. The crash was awful, what could be worse than that? I moved my hand slightly and felt something in it. With difficulty I moved my head and saw a buzzer. Did I want to ring it? Did I want help?

Suddenly I was afraid. I didn’t want to be alone anymore. I pressed as hard as I could and then shut my eyes and waited, longing to hear the sound of footsteps. Instead of footsteps I heard slowly flapping wings. I felt a breeze against my skin and a chill on my face.

I opened my eyes.

Standing by my bed was the Angel of Death.

tumblr_static_large_angel_silhouette

“What do you want from me?” I asked.

She leaned forward and whispered in my ear, her breath as cold as ice. “You owe me your life. I will take it later, or that of another. You choose!” and then she was gone.

Alarms sounded and nurses ran into my room. I couldn’t breathe. Was I dying?

“Hello, Lucy, talk to us. She’s in shock. CLEAR.”

I felt a jolt of electricity and I began to breathe again. I was alive, for now anyway.

http://amzn.to/1aXh4Md

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

Leave a Reply

