Three Ghosts – Part Two – My Second Visitor

Dad1

I sat down in my quiet home, feeling a little more calm, but melancholy. Families fade away so quickly. I was used to being along. My husband travelled with work, but I’d had a bad day. My daughter busy with her own life , so I sipped my wine and gazed out of the window, watching the orange sun slide behind the mountains.

A noise I hadn’t heard in a long time broke the silence. It was the sound of a cigarette lighter, followed by the smell of smoke, not just any old smoke, but the smoke that came from strong unfiltered ‘Players Navy Cut’, my dads favorite brand of cigarettes. I smiled. “You know you shouldn’t be smoking it the house,” I said, talking to a man who’d been dead for over twenty years.

“Don’t tell your mum!” Players Navy Cut

I laughed out loud, now I was losing my mind!

“Dad?”

“I hear you’re having a bit of bother at work. Do you remember when I sorted your boss out. You were working at the Angel Hotel in Catterick Village? He was a nasty piece of work he was. I put him in his place didn’t I?”

“Yes dad you certainly did.” Could I see smoke rings hovering above the arm-chair? I loved it when my dad blew smoke rings.

“Who upset you this time? Do you want me to handle him for you?”

I laughed hard and loud at the thought of my dad walking into the Law Firm  where I worked and taking on my boss.

“Dad, you don’t need to do that.” I couldn’t see my dad, he wasn’t there, but I could feel his smile and I felt loved. “Well if you’re sure.” he said ” I don’t want anyone being mean to my little girl. If you want me to give him ‘what for’ I will.”

He continued to talk, but his voice faded away, as though someone had turned the volume down. The smell of smoke faded with him. “Bye dad, I think my mum’s waiting for you, I love you.”

I head my mum’s voice again. “Wilf, tea’s ready.” she said.

The house became silent, I was alone again, but not for long.

http://amzn.to/1aXh4Md

Dead of July by Sandra Thompson

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Three Ghosts – Part Two – My Second Visitor

  1. Very nice Sandra. I guess that your dad didn’t use ‘mam’ like us northerners would. Both my in-laws smoked Players Navy Cut, strong, no filters and probably the most expensive cigarettes in those days. They had no money but still would not change to a cheaper brand, mind they both eventually gave up the habit towards the end of their lives. Your dad has a nice friendly face also 🙂

    • Thanks David. My dad came from a ‘posh’ family, and actually used mother more than anything. He was from Darlington. He teased me a lot when he and my mum first got together (I was six). If he kissed her I would be annoyed and shout ‘stop kissing mi mam’ Can you sitll by Players Navy Cut?

      • Posh indeed ! It can’t have been easy having a new dad at the age of six. Being an ex smoker for 25 years now, I don’t really look at what cigarettes are on sale, in fact in all larger stores in the UK, it is forbidden to display ciggies on the shelf. I would imagine though, that Navy Cut are probably only available in dedicated tobacco shops. Have a nice weekend 🙂

  2. I was my mother’s home hospice nurse those last five weeks of her life. So many times she seemed to be here, then on the other side and sometimes one foot in each. I hear her all the time in voice and subtle signals in daily things. When you experience such things you know a definite connection exists with loved ones that have passed on.

Leave a Reply

