Night Terrors and The Walking Dead

I watched the garage door close firmly, making sure no one slid underneath before the door hit the concrete. Then I did something I’d NEVER done before. I locked it. Walking from room to room, I closed every shutter, checking the perimeter of the house as I did so. I made sure the front and back door were firmly locked. The glass sliding doors in the walk out basement worried me because they would be easy to break. Pull yourself together, I kept saying out loud. What was it I’d seen in the supermarket parking lot? My brain registered a creature from ‘the Walking Dead’, but it wasn’t possible. You saw a poor young lady with a horrific skin disease, I reasoned. She tried to sell you cosmetics that’s all.

I poured myself a glass of red wine, my hands shaking so much I almost spilled it. I turned up the heating, it had suddenly become very cold. It was impossible for me to sit still and relax. I gulped my wine and poured myself another glass. Should I call my husband? I picked up the phone and dialed, but was put straight to voice mail. SHIT! I dialed my daughter, same thing. Oh well, I guess I’m on my own, I thought.

The second glass of red wine did help to calm my shattered nerves so I sat down and worked on my current novel. Thank the Lord it wasn’t about Zombies. Getting lost in my writing helped eliminate my fear. Sheila, my heroine was backed in a corner, an evil Russian closing in on her, threatening her when I heard a scraping noise coming from outside.  What the hell was that? I heard it again, the noise came from the front porch. Now I was scared! I eased quietly off the sofa, not making a sound. I tiptoed quietly to the door and looked out of the little round peep-hole. I wasn’t prepared for what I saw. I stifled a scream, but only just. The creature standing on my porch was familiar to me, I’d seen her often in the local Bar, but never looking like this. I grabbed my cell phone, and with my trembling fingers dialed 911. The line was dead!

r-ZOMBIE-WOMAN-large570

Photo from the Huffington Post

 

My new novel is for sale on amazon. amzn.to/1aXh4Md

dead-of-july_coveronly_300dpi_6x9.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

