A beating too far – The Girl in the Mirror

I was four years old when my mum finally walked out on my dad. The day was so traumatic it is etched in my mind forever. When I think about it, I feel like it happened yesterday. This photo is not me of course, I borrowed it from the internet. This little girl looks as scared as I was when I hid behind a chair.

Scared_Child_at_NighttimeMy dad yelled at my mum. I was terrified. He grabbed her by her hair, slamming her head against the wall. I closed my eyes tightly and held my breath. Not sure why I held my breath, I just did.

My dad pushed my mum into the hallway. I heard her scream, and then whimper. Silence followed. An uncomfortable silence and I worried that my mum was dead. I waited for while, scared to move. Scared of my dad.  Had he left? Nervously I stood up and walked slowly across the sitting room. As I approached the doorway I saw my mum lying on the floor. She turned to look at me, tears in her eyes and shame on her face. No child should ever have to see that.

My dad towered over her his foot pulled back ready to kick her, an unpleasant smirk on his face. Falling to my knees next to my mum, I put my arms around her. “Are you alright mum?” I asked.

“Yes pet, I will be.” she replied.

The front door slammed as my dad stormed out. It sparked us into action. My mum sat up and hugged me. “We’re going away now. We won’t be coming back.” she said.

I write to heal the wounds my childhood left behind. My stories aren’t depressing, but full of fun and adventure. There is also the odd haunting, premonition and unruly ghost. Believe it or not, I see dead people. Yes I’m not quite normal, but who is?

Give my first novel ‘Dead of July’ a try, I think you’ll like it. On Monday March 3rd, it will be for sale at the lower price of $1.99 for 24 hours. A little deal on Amazon. Read the reviews or purchase the book by clicking on the cover below. If you read and enjoy, please give me a review on Amazon. A new writer needs all the help she can get. Thanks and enjoy.

dead-of-july_coveronly_300dpi_6x91.jpg

2 thoughts on “A beating too far – The Girl in the Mirror

  1. It is a mad, mad world. The scars of the past take quite a while to heal. Luckily, writing helps. Your novel is great – I’ll have a review when I return from Manchester…

Leave a Reply

