A Christmas Mystery

I was sick, and getting sicker by the hour. My head pounded and my body ached. I lay on the sofa, unable to make it up the stairs to bed. Covered in throws and fleeces my body felt like ice for a while before the fever set in. I was all alone and miserable until my mother showed up.

She sat in a chair by the window, a sympathetic smile on her face, just knowing she was there was comforting to me.

“Mum can I have some water please, I’m burning up?” 

With a burning fever, I slipped in and out of consciousness. Every time I opened my eyes I saw my mum watching over me.

I wish she’d bring me a drink, I thought.

Eventually, in a window of clarity, I crawled up the stairs and into my bed. I didn’t sleep well, but I slept.

The fever persisted and the following day was a blur of sleep, sickness and misery. Even my mother deserted me. I was alone again. Lying on the sofa, I was too exhausted to even read. I vaguely remember calling my husband and telling him my mum had been to visit, he sounded vaguely concerned.

Tears of misery and exhaustion trickled down my face as I watched the sun slip behind the Rocky Mountains.

And then something magical happened. 

CIMG1178

The snowflakes falling outside my window turned to glistening diamonds as the Christmas lights came on.

I stared at them, hypnotized. Was I hallucinating? I’d worried about getting the lights up before the frigid temperatures set in. Who had done this? My husband was in Columbus and no one else had the keys to our shed.

The only person I’d seen in the past two days was my mother, and surely that was a figment of my imagination, induced by the fever.

My mother has been dead over ten years.

Maybe she is still looking out for me.

I hope so.

Mum, thanks for looking out for me and bringing light and comfort to my life. I miss you!

Believe it or not, this is a true story! Things like this have happened to me my whole life and I now sharing them with the world. My first novel ‘Dead of July’ has just been released and is available on Amazon as both a paperback and an eBook.

A German Ghost Story

A German Ghost Story

amzn.to/1ci8iX3 (eBook)

amzn.to/1hFBT45 (Paperback)

One thought on “A Christmas Mystery

  1. A beautiful story Sandra, and proof that indeed our loved ones continue to watch over us from the Spirit World.Thank you for visiting and following my blog. I enjoy reading yours! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

