Dr. Sleep – Stephen King – DAMMIT!

Dr. Sleep

When I finish reading a Stephen King novel, I alway say “DAMMIT!”

Why? Because while I am reading, I become one of the characters. When I finish, it’s almost like I died.

Before reading Dr. Sleep I re-read the shining, just to make sure young Dan (Doc) Torrence, and all that happened to him was still fresh in my mind.

I now live in Colorado, but when I first read The Shining I lived in England. I had just gotten married and lived, with my husband, on an army camp in Blandford, Dorset. I hadn’t even heard of Colorado.

This book more was even more enjoyable because I was lucky enough to hear Mr. King himself read from it. Yes I  got tickets to see him at the Chautauqua in Boulder. For around ninety minutes he amused and enthralled a sold out audience.

CA: Premiere Of Paramounts' Remake Of "The Manchurian Candidate" - Arrivals

I was afraid I would be disappointed when I heard Stephen King talk, but I wasn’t, I hold only admiration for him. He is a very ‘down to earth’ man who appears to be genuinely surprised at his success and grateful to each and every fan.

Now DAMMIT, I’ve finished Dr. Sleep and I regret it. I love this book. Although I am a woman on the wrong side of fifty, for a month I became Dan Torrance, recovering alcoholic. I could shine. Maybe the “shining” part is real, who knows.

I strongly recommend you read this book, but before you do,  read The Shining. Stephen King, thank you for allowing me to escape from reality for a while. Please don’t ever stop writing. I need you.

I have just completed my first novel. I wish I could say it would thrill you like a Stephen King masterpiece, but I’m not quite there yet. If you want to support an old girl, new to writing give it a try. ‘Dead of July’ will be available on Amazon as and e-book and paperback in mid December. I wrote my heart out for two years, and like how it turned out. A paranormal thriller with a touch of humor (because I’m funny). 

 

 

 

Dead of July (Small)

Follow me on Facebook

Preview Dead of July

Leave a Reply

