Dead of July – A German Ghost Story

Dead of July (Small)

He threw his head back and laughed before focusing on me again. “You are mine now,” he said. His thick, well-groomed mustache didn’t cover the snarling lips beneath it. He laughed again. Could this also be the man I saw lurking in the shadows? I immediately locked the car door, but was unable to wind up the window before his face appeared beside me, his disgusting odor seeping into my space. I was too terrified to move. His arm shot through the car window and grabbed my neck.

“You are going to pay for what you did,” he said with a heavy, guttural accent. “You will never be rid of me.” His fingers crawled around my neck to the back of my head, pulling me toward him. I was too terrified to resist. He leaned forward through the window so our faces were touching and kissed me roughly on the lips, biting me as he did so. The smell of his stale breath made me want to vomit. I jerked my head away.

“Get off me you pig!” I screamed, hoping someone would hear me. “Just who the hell do you think you are?”

 

Yup, I’m almost finished. I have my beta reader report and I am making a few minor changes before sending my book for the final edit. It’s taken almost three years to perfect this story. I have labored long and hard. The fruits of my labor should be available to purchase as an e-book and paperback at the end of November, just in time for Christmas.

I enjoyed being a British Army Wife, and had the most fun in Dortmund, with the RAPC attached to The Royal Highland Gunners. Army wives Rule!

Follow me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

