THE ROAD TO HELL! (The end of the Family)

As it grew dark, the rain got heavier.

I looked at the clock on the dashboard. Plenty of time to get to the airport and leave England for good. Good Bloody Riddance to it. It had brought me nothing but grief. Then I laughed, until now, I thought.

I had been back in the country for almost a year, a very rewarding year. I had murdered my nasty greedy brother, and my evil father. It had been a very rewarding year. The best year of my life in fact.

I looked down at the white gloves on the passenger seat of the car. I should get rid of them, I thought, with forensics and things, they may track my father’s death back to me.

I opened the window and threw them out.

I could see the lights of the airport in the distance and longed to be on the Boeing 777 to Rome, leaving this God awful country behind me.

Car crashThe car engine spluttered, I looked at the fuel gauge, over half a tank, so why was it spluttering?

The engine died and I coasted to the side of the road. Great, I was in the middle of nowhere. I grabbed my mobile phone. No signal. Damn.

I started to walk along the road, if I had to hitch a ride to the airport, so be it. I just wanted to get away.

I heard the noise of an engine. A car approached and soon the headlights illuminated the road. I stuck out my thumb, and to my delight and amazement, it pulled over. Without looking at the driver, I got inside. Sitting in the backseat, I opened my purse and without looking up I said.

“I don’t care how much I have to pay you, just get me to the airport”.

I pushed a wad of money towards the driver and then looked up to see why he wasn’t accepting it.

“Oh my good, Jerry, is that you?”

“Hello sister dear.”

“You’re dead, how can this be. Why is the car going so fast? Who’s driving this thing? Dad, what are you doing here? Let me out.”

The two faces continued to grin at Angie as she struggled with the door handle. The speed of the car increased, 70, 80, 90 miles an hour on the dark winding country road.

“Angie dear, we’ll be together forever now.” Jerry said. “Isn’t that why you killed me, so you could be with me.” His manic laugh was ear shattering.

The bony skeletal hand of Angie’s father reached out and touched her, “Can I get that hug now Angie?”

The car veered off the road and into the woods “Noooooooo!” Angie yelled, but it was too late. The car hit a tree and crumpled. She wasn’t wearing a seat belt.

The following morning the police were puzzled. There was no sign of a driver in the wrecked car. Only a dead mangled backseat passenger wearing white cotton gloves. A tragic accident, made even more tragic by the death of the victim’s father earlier that afternoon.

 

Dead of July (Small)

 

 

Leave a Reply

