A Dead of July Recipe for the Fourth

I don’t post recipe’s very often, but this one I like. It’s a great twist on potato salad for your Fourth of July Feast.

Yes, I am taking the day off to celebrate America’s Independence from us awful Brits….oops, forgot, I’m an American Citizen now. Try this out and enjoy.

DSC00446

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 medium Yukon Gold potatoes (boil with the skin on and then peel, making sure not to  over-cook)

5 slices of bacon (you’re interested now aren’t you)

1/2 Medium onion chopped finely

1 tbs flour

1/2 tsp of seasoned salt (I used Jamaican me crazy seasoned sea salt)

1/2 tsb cayenne pepper

2/3 cup water

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Hard boiled egg and freshly chopped parsley to garnish (optional – I didn’t)

Cook the bacon in a large pan until crispy and then set aside on a plate lined with paper towel to soak up the fat. Add onion to pan and cook until tender. Stir in flour, seasoned salt and cayenne pepper. Once incorporated add the vinegar and water. Stir well, scraping up the bits on the bottom of the  pan. Cook until thick and bubbly, around two to four minutes. Stir in potatoes and bacon until well coated.

This can be served immediately hot, or refrigerated for later. It has no mayonnaise and it super tasty. My husband doesn’t like onions, so when I had cooked the onions in the bacon fat, I removed them before finishing the dish It still had the flavor, but no bits of onion for him to complain about.

Happy Fourth of July!

dead-of-july-small4-color-13.jpg

Follow me on Facebook

Preview Dead of July

TRAVEL TALES AND MISHAPS

Leave a Reply

