Face in the Mirror

Once when I was a teenager I wondered

What it would be like to be my mother for a day

To see the world through her eyes

And feel the way she felt in every way

 

Then I began to wonder I about who I really was

Could I now be my mother and was my mother me

What if our places changed and I had gotten old

Would anyone know the difference, would anyone be able to see

 

I’ve thought about it often as time has passed me by

I look in the mirror to see a face that isn’t mine

My thoughts belong to the girl I used to be

But the face is my mother’s, it just happened over time

Mirror

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Follow me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

