Dead of July – A German Ghost Story

My book ‘Dead of July’ took me a little over a year to write. I was extremely proud of myself when I finished it in April of last year. I found an editor who took my money and promised, that it would be ready to publish in October. The promise was not kept, so I rescheduled for March. You guessed, the promise was not kept. “Okay” I said “Lets get it ready for July, after all it’s called ‘Dead of July'” You guessed, the promise was not kept.

What was supposed to be one of the happiest times in my life was spoiled by someone who was paid to edit a book, but decided, after she took my money, that she couldn’t produce the goods. Someone I trusted, and paid, let me down.

My book will still be published, and it will be a great book to read, but I have learned a valuable lesson about editing. An editor should be able to produce the goods in around three or possibly four months. Not give excuse after excuse as to why it’s not published for a year. Hopefully ‘Dead of July’ will be published by September after being edited by someone who keeps their promises and cares about their reputation.

Keep following and learn from my mistakes. I haven’t given up on my book, but I have given up on the editor who promised me the world, but never gave me one finished chapter.

Preview Dead of July

Dead of July (Small)[4] Color 1

Leave a Reply

