Fringe Science or Alice in Wonderland (Part 2)

I turned onto the main road and sped away as fast as I could. The oversized eagle flew high above me, casting its shadow over my car. Close escape. I looked ahead of me, concentrating on the road. A deer strolled across the road ahead,  which was not an unusual sight, so I slowed down to give it time to cross safely.

bird-deer_2094466c

I needn’t have bothered. It became breakfast for the oversized eagle. I watched horrified as the deer’s legs made the motion of running, but came into contact with nothing but air. I put my foot down and escaped. As I drove along the strangely silent road, I wondered if I was having a ‘flashback’ from my younger days. My brother always warned me this would happen. Why didn’t I listen to him? I had only dropped acid a handful of times in my teens, but it seemed that finally I was paying the price. The road ahead was blocked. I slowed down as I approached two German tanks with swastikas clearly visible.  Preparing to die, I stopped.

panzer_tanks

A man in German Army uniform approached the car, a rifle slung over his shoulder, boots clicking on the road and he approached. Strangely he had no color. He looked like he had just walked out a of a black and white movie. I was frozen with fear. He bent down and tapped on my window. I jumped and pressed the button to open it. He spoke to me in German and strangely I understood him.

“Where are you going?” he asked

“I am on my way to work.” I replied as though in a dream “Are you going to kill me?”

“Why should I kill you ?” he asked, as he spun around and discharged his rifle into a passing coyote. A coyote that was the size of a large lion.

“No reason, I just don’t know why you are here.” I said. He grinned at me and showed me his large teeth. Each tooth  had a swastika engraved on it.

“You drive a German car, you are one of us, now go safely to work and work hard. Hard work brings rewards”

I drove away. Was I dreaming or hallucinating? I sunk my teeth into my lip, hoping to wake up. I didn’t. There were more cars on the road now, they looked like cartoons.

audi_s4_6

The y didn’t seem to be driving in straight lines, or on round wheels. It was a strange feeling. I was going a little too fast, hoping to leave this madness behind, when without warning, there was an explosion directly in front of me. I pulled the steering wheel back towards me and left the ground like it was the most natural thing in the world.

Below me I heard gunfire!

Leave a Reply

