A Girl Abroad – Germany 1982

In 1982, when I was 25, I moved to Dortmund , West Germany with my husband. He was a British Soldier in the Royal Army Pay Corps and was attached to the Royal Highland Gunners (19 Field Regiment) stationed in Ubique Barracks.

It was a great adventure for me. After staying with friends for a few weeks, we managed to find an apartment in an area called Borsigplatz. I loved that area, it reminded me of Italy, probably because of the amount of Italians who favored it too. When we first moved I didn’t have a job, and spent long days wandering aroung the streets, shopping, taking photos and learning the German language from the locals. I was a born traveller and living in a Foreign country was like a dream come true.

Borzigplatz

Borzigplatz 2

This is Borsigplatz, a large round-a-bout where six roads met. One of the roads was called Osterholtzstrasse. The trams ran along Osterholzstrasse and right past RobertStrasse, the street on which I lived. They were happy days, I was young and full of hope. 1982 was a good year, made even better by the World Cup which was played in Barcelona. The World Cup final was between Italy and West Germany. What a battle that was! I have wonderful memories of that game, along with the parties afterwards.

Why am I telling you about this? Because it is what inspired me to write ‘Dead of July’, my first full length novel, which will be released in July of this year (2013). It is thirty-one years since I lived in Germany, but the memories are still with me. I hope you enjoy my story. Preview Dead of July

dead-of-july-small4-color-13.jpg

I have written a couple of short stories, one of which is currently being edited. ‘Girl on the Beach’ is still available for $0.99 from the links below. It is a little rough around the edges, but it has received some great reviews. It is a simple story about a little girl who has a premonition. It is set in Blackpool in the early sixties. Give it a try.

I am very excited about the upcoming release of ‘Dead of July’. Follow my blog and my Facebook page for release details.

Follow me on Facebook

I also have another blog TRAVEL TALES AND MISHAPS which was originally about travel, but now is about life in general.

Leave a Reply

