Dead of July – A German Ghost Story

dead-of-july-small4-color-13.jpg

It was July 4th, 1982, and the weather in Dortmund was so hot it was almost unbearable. We had no air conditioning in our apartment, which was on the top floor of a lovely old building. Heat rises, of course, so it was hotter than hell.  There was no balcony and the window in the living room was actually set in the sloping roof and opened up to the sky.  I had opened the window as wide as it would go, but the only thing coming through it was hot air and little particles of silver that shimmered in the sun.  These particles of silver looked very pretty as they slowly fluttered to the ground, but I am not sure if they were good for the lungs. The shimmering silver shower was courtesy of the huge chemical plant situated less than a mile away.  In this litigious society, I probably shouldn’t mention the name of the plant, but it was one of the largest suppliers of pharmaceutical, agricultural and industrial chemicals in Europe, the US and Asia. I have to say, I have suffered no health issues from my proximity to the chemical plant, nor has anyone else to my knowledge, but the shower was certainly a spectacle. On Sunday, July 4th, I sat in that roof-top window with my legs dangling over the ledge and watched the street below.

I first wrote the above paragraph two years ago, sitting here on the chaise under the bedroom window, my favorite writing spot. This was the first paragraph of  a book I planned to call  ‘A Walk in the Park’. Although I had a rough idea of what I was going to write, I had no idea how the adventure was going to end. Much of the story is based on experiences I had as a young army wife living in Dortmund, Germany (West Germany as it was known then), but I plucked some of it from my overactive imagination. As I continued to write my story, I realized ‘A Walk in the Park’ didn’t do it justice. I consulted my friends both here in the US, and in England, searching for the perfect title. A friend and former college, Jennifer Candee Zacharewicz, came up with ‘Dead of July’. I loved it and it stuck. 

In a little over two months, ‘Dead of July’ will be available on Amazon, Smashwords and several other outlets as both an e-Book and a paperback. I loved writing this book and I hope it gives pleasure to my readers.

Girl on the Beach Cover Art Flat with Title (Small)Prior to ‘Dead of July’ I wrote two short stories. ‘Girl on the Beach’ and ‘Guy at the Bar’. I feel like I had Guy at the Bar (Blue Text)[11]my ‘Learner’ plates on when I wrote these, as I had stories in my head, but wasn’t sure how to put them on paper. I learned a great deal in the process though.

‘Girl on the Beach’ is still available on Amazon, but ‘Guy at the Bar’ is being re-edited for re-release later this year. 

 

‘Girl on the Beach’ is a pretty accurate account of my first premonition, I had to use my imagination a little to make it a little more readable. Real life, no matter how ‘different’ can still be boring if it is told like a documentary. I still enjoy talking to people about this book, and it has received some great reviews, but ‘Dead of July’ blows it out of the water. I am working with Amy Eye, an editor I LOVE The Eyes for Editing and I know this book will keep you captivated.

Check in again soon for updates or Follow me on Facebook

2 thoughts on “Dead of July – A German Ghost Story

Leave a Reply

