Footprints in the Snow – A Christmas Ghost Story

Christmas day in all its glory had been enjoyed by all. We relaxed by the fire, almost comatose, watching movies. We were too stuffed to move or even talk. Uncle Fred was snoring, his party hat rising and falling over his mouth as he breathed. It was a good day.

I forced myself to move and went into the kitchen to empty the dishwasher (again). Someone had to do it. I glanced at the back door as I walked past. Was someone standing there? I heard a light tap on the glass. I opened the door a crack and saw a young woman standing on the step. She was shivering as snowflakes fell around her. “Please come in, you must be cold. Are you alone?”

She was pale and thin. “Thank you for your kindness” she said as she stepped inside. “I lost my dog, I was looking for her, she’s old”

“What’s her name?” I asked

“Sandy” she said “Her name is Sandy and I’m afraid I won’t see her again”

“You aren’t from around here are you? What makes you think you will find your dog here?”

“She got out of the car whilst my husband was changing a wheel. I didn’t see which way she went.”

“I’m sorry, I haven’t seen her, but you look so cold. Don’t you have a coat?”

“I left it in the car when I ran after my dog. Sorry to have troubled you, I must be going.” She turned around. “Sandy” she shouted to no-one.

I grabbed an old cardigan from the coat rack in the hall and turned around to give it to the cold young lady, but she was gone. She had faded into the snowflakes leaving no trace, not even a footprint. Odd!

Snowy night

I couldn’t get the young girl out of my mind. She looked so cold and sad.

December 26th was a bright clear morning. It was beautiful. No one else was awake so I enjoyed the tranquility of the morning. A welcome relief after the chaos of Christmas. I switched on the television and watched the morning news in the kitchen as I drank a steaming cup of coffee, lovely.

One of the reporters was covering an accident that had happened less than half a mile from my house. I froze! A young couple had stopped at the side of the road to change a tire and were rear ended by a truck. They were both killed instantly, a tragedy on Christmas Day. They weren’t locals and their family had not, as yet been located. The face that looked back at me from the television was that of the young girl that had tapped on my door on Christmas night. How could that be? Then I remembered there were no footprints in the snow. I shivered and put down my coffee as I headed to the back door.

I did see footprints in the snow now, but not human footprints, they were paw prints. The paw prints came from the trees at the back of my house directly to my front door. It looked like an animal had laid there for a while.

Golden retriever

“Sandy” I yelled instinctively. I heard a low whining sound and a golden retriever walked slowly into view. She looked tired and cold as she came to me. I knelt down and felt for a tag on her collar. I found it. There was no address, no phone number, just a name. ‘Sandy’

I hope you enjoyed my Christmas Ghost Story. Check out my short story while it is still on Amazon. It will be available for another month or so (for free) until it gets a facelift in the spring.

My first full length novel ‘Dead of July’  (Preview) Dead of July will be published in March 2013. For updates Follow me on Facebook.

I am very excited about this novel and know you will love it. Check back for updates. 

Leave a Reply

