The Balance between Good and EVIL

I write, I read, I breathe!

If I watch a movie, I need to be thrilled, dangled in suspense, scared and immediately hooked. What I don’t need is to be disgusted with blood and gore.

Sixth Sense

Sixth Sense

 

Who didn’t love this movie. I may have to watch it again it’s been a while.

 

 

 

 

 

SAW

SAW

 

I would NEVER watch this movie again. The plot was great and it was full of suspense, but it was way too graphic. It’s not entertaining to watch dismembered bodies flailing on the floor in agony as they slowly die.

 

 

 

 

So herein lies my dilemma. I write. How do I find my writing balance?

My first two short stories were fairly amusing ghost stories, I didn’t want to scare everyone away. I wrote from my heart.

Guy at the Bar (Blue Text)[11]

My first story ‘Guy at the Bar’ is based on an event that happened to me when I was 18 and a drunken stranger followed me home from my local pub. As I fled, terrified, I wished him dead. In the story my wish comes true and he comes back to haunt me…..or does he?

This book was on Amazon for a while, but I have taken it down for editing. I see mistakes that I didn’t see when I first published it. Nothing obvious, but I am more particular now.

 

Girl on the Beach Cover Art Flat with Title (Small)

Girl on the Beach is still for sale on Amazon, although I may re-edit it next year.

Girl on the Beach (UK)

Girl on the Beach (US)

This is a story about a seven-year old girl who has disturbing premonitions and sees people after they have passed.  I have received some very complimentary reviews on this story.

My upcoming novel is called ‘Dead of July’, and is set in Germany in 1982. It tells the story of a young Army wife who gets into trouble the Russian Mafia, both dead and alive. What would you do if you were being chased by an Evil Cossack who showed up in impossible places? Who would you turn to for help if you were being haunted?

dead-of-july-small4-color-13.jpg

 

Dead of July will be available on Amazon in March, watch out for it. 

Follow me on Facebook

My next novel, after ‘Dead of July’ is set in London in the 1940’s. It is a bit of a challenge as this is a book my late father started whilst on active duty with the British Army during the London Blitz. I am finishing it in his honor. 

 

Where does the balance between good and evil come in? I want my stories to be thrilling, but not awful. I want them to have a touch of Evil, but in a good way. I don’t want blood and gore, but I don’t want to write something that could become a ‘Chick Flick’.

 

It’s a tough life being a writer, but I am enjoying the ride. 

 

MERRY CHRISTMAS

Leave a Reply

