STOP TALKING TO ME

As a little girl I loved traveling on trains.

The building to the left is ‘Bank Top Station’.  I knew this place well as a child.

The train from ‘Bank Top Station’ took us to the local seaside, which was also where my brother lived.

At Christmas my mother would take me to the train station for another reason. She took me there because between the two main platforms, there would be a huge Christmas tree. Under the tree were lots of slightly used, unwrapped Christmas gifts. The gifts were donated by kind travelers, and given to the poor. Every year we took the bus, which was almost an hour’s ride from our village, and walked up the hill to the Station to leave our gifts. My mother sometimes shed a tear and said a prayer as we laid our gifts under the tree. We were poor too, but said…

View original post 686 more words

Leave a Reply

