Beaten and Abused – Dead of July – Sneak Preview

This story is set in Dortmund, Germany and the year is 1982.

(The Girl in the Park – Chapter One)

Impulsively, I ran forward to the bench and grabbed the girl’s hand. “Anna?” I asked. She nodded her head and looked at me with fear in her eyes. We ran in the opposite direction from the gate and away from him. She needed no persuasion; she just followed me. We ran to the other gate and I opened it quietly. We slipped through silently. The voice still raged behind us, but it didn’t seem to be coming any closer. I felt pretty uncomfortable running with two beers and a bratwurst not quite digested in my tummy, so we ran a little farther and then stopped. I turned and looked at Anna, who had stopped crying and seemed a little more composed. I let go of her hand and she looked up at me.

“Danke,” she said, and then talked to me in broken English. “Viktor is betrunken” she said. She saw the confusion on my face, so she used hand gestures to try to make me understand. “Betrunken,” she said again as she made a drinking gesture.

“Oh you mean drunk. He is drunk,” I said.

“Yes drunk. Him likes to drink.” She tried to smile, but I could see it was difficult as her top lip looked swollen. A bruise was beginning to form around her left eye. She also had bruises in the shape handprints on her right arm. She saw me looking at them.

“Com sie mit,” I said to her. She shook her head.

 

This is taken from the first chapter of my upcoming novel ‘Dead of July’, which will be released later this year. My first two short stories are available on Amazon. I was a novice to writing when I published these, and will re-edit and re-publish them at a later date. They are still very special to me because they were my stepping-stones to becoming an author. 

Follow me on Facebook

Girl on the Beach (UK)

Girl on the Beach (US)

Guy at the Bar Amazon

Guy at the Bar Amazon UK

I live in Franktown, Colorado and if you are reading my blog, please pray for the families and victims of the shooting at the movie theater in Aurora. My heart goes out to them. 

Leave a Reply

