Dementia or Adventure?

We all thing do crazy things at times. When I was in my teens I left home more times than I can remember. At first my parents worried about me, fearing the worst. Eventually they got used to my exploits and realized it was who I was and nothing would change me. With only one little bag packed I would sneak out of the house in search of adventure. With my thumb stuck out (yes hitchhiking was safe  once) I would set off to London, or some other city I wanted to explore. I always regretted it, although sometimes this took a while, and would return home. I loved my parents, but I was a rebellious, restless teenager in search of adventure.

I got to thinking about my wayward youth yesterday whilst at work. It was a particularly stressful day. Deadlines to be met, not enough time, too much to do. I thought to myself  “I am going to run away” and I laughed. One of the young guys passing my office looked in at me, wondering why I was sitting alone behind my desk laughing. That made me laugh even more.

It occurred to me that when I was seventeen, if I left home, I would be considered rebellious and out of control. I would grow out of it. However if I ran away from home now (yes I am 55) I may be considered crazy. What if I still have these urges to run away when I am 65 or older? Will I be put in a nursing facility and diagnosed with Alzheimer’s or dementia? I think I had better be very careful. I am eccentric, but I am not CRAZY!

Oh, and the other thing is, if I do run away in search of adventure, I will do it with a little more style. No hitchhiking!

I have written a couple of short stories based on my youth. My first steps in my career as an author. They aren’t perfect so if you read them, be kind to me, I am still learning.

Girl on the Beach (UK)

Girl on the Beach (US)

Guy at the Bar Amazon

Guy at the Bar Amazon UK

I am in the process of having my first full length novel ‘Dead of July’ edited. This is the book I would like to think of as my first. It is a paranormal adventure story about a young army wife living in Germany in the eighties. It is based on my life. For updates and information on when this book will be launched Follow me on Facebook.

(Preview) Dead of July

Leave a Reply

