Evil Cossack – First Encounter!

My editor and I are working together to polish my story ‘Dead of July’. I really like the way it is turning out. 

Below is an excerpt from Chapter One, when Sheila first met Anna in the park. A chance meeting that changed Anna’s life for the better. A chance meeting that put Sheila in the path of EVIL. 

Anna!” someone was yelling. Actually, it sounded more like a growl than a yell.

This gruff male voice was yelling more than just her name, but all I could understand was “Anna.” She immediately stopped crying and literally froze. She looked at me with a terrified expression on her face, so I could only assume that the person who was growling her name was the same person who had made her cry. The man standing at the gate was now yelling loudly enough to scare us both. I took a couple of steps towards the path, which gave me a clear view of the gate, and saw a stocky man standing there. He had dark hair and a very rugged, angry-looking face. For some reason he made me think of a Russian Cossack and I knew I didn’t want an encounter with him, especially here in a park alone.

Impulsively, I ran forward to the bench and grabbed the girl’s hand. “Anna?” I asked. She nodded her head and looked at me with fear in her eyes. I took her hand and we ran in the opposite direction, away from the angry man. She needed no persuasion; she just followed me. We ran to the other gate and I opened it quietly. We slipped through silently. The angry voice was still raging behind us, but it didn’t seem to be coming any closer. I felt pretty uncomfortable running with two beers and a bratwurst not quite digested in my tummy, so we ran a little farther and then stopped. I turned and looked at Anna, who had stopped crying and seemed a little more composed. I let go of her hand and she looked up at me………


To find out what happens next keep checking in to my blog or  Follow me on Facebook !

‘Dead of July’ will be released later this year.

I started my writing career with two short stories, both of which are available on Amazon. They have received great reviews, even though I realize the editing could be better.

Girl on the Beach (UK)

Girl on the Beach (US)

Guy at the Bar Amazon

Guy at the Bar Amazon UK

‘Dead of July’ will be perfect. My amazing editor has helped me create my first full length novel A novel I am proud of. 

Leave a Reply

