Ghosts – Stories – Me!

I started writing about my life a couple of years ago. Writing about my life meant writing about ghosts too. Can’t remember when I was without them.

I adapt my stories a little to make them more enjoyable, but they are all based on actual events so I can’t change them too much.

This is a pretty good likeness to the pub in which my first story took place.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My first book cover ‘Girl on the Beach’ will always be my favorite.

I needed to share my stories with the world and in my hurry to put them on Amazon for everyone to read, I failed to work with my editor as well as I should have. I know better now.

I am both amazed and happy to say that despite the less than perfect editing, I have had some pretty good reviews on both of these books. I have been following the Amazon reviews, but today discovered that ‘Good Reads’ and ‘Barnes and Noble’ published reviews also. Mostly good, but of course there were some that weren’t. It’s OK though. The critical reviews are what I need to learn from, and I did. What did I learn?

1. Work more closely with my editor and pay attention to her.

2. List my books in the right category. (these books were listed as suspense and should have been ghost stories)

3. Work more closely with your editor and pay attention to her.

You get the drift!

That being said, my first full length novel is now with my new editor Amy. It has taken us almost a month to finish the first chapter. I have added dialogue and made other changes on her recommendation. I am loving how this book is turning out. I suppose I am ‘growing’ as a writer. They say third time lucky and this is my third book. Getting it right has nothing to do with luck and everything to do with hard work.

Although this book is the third one I have published, it is the first one I am truly proud of. My first two short stories Girl on the Beach (US)  and Guy at the Bar Amazon were stepping-stones to my first full length novel.  Watch out for ‘Dead of July’ which will be released later this year. I think it will be worth the wait.

Sandra Thompson may become a best-selling author.

Girl on the Beach (UK)

Guy at the Bar Amazon UK

Follow me on Facebook

 

 

 

 

My new editor is Amy Eye at www.theeyesforediting.com and I am confident she will help make ‘Dead of July’ a book to remember.

 

Leave a Reply

