London Blitz – A Tribute to Wilf (my dad)

https://www.amazon.com/author/sandra

Yesterday I conquered ‘Create Space’.

Today I set up my own Author Page on Amazon. Once I start writing my next novel, I won’t have time for things like this.

My next book was originally started in 1940 by my Dad, George Wilfred Newman. I am not totally sure what I am going to call it , but my Dad called it ‘September’. It is about the Blitz.

Below is the foreward, written by my dad on thin paper, using a type writer. It was mailed to his father, my granddad.

My dad didn’t think he would make it home from the war and wanted someone to read, and finish this story for him. I read his type written story and dictated it onto my computer. It is my next project.

Foreward

By G.W. Newman

I was stationed in Surrey at the time of the great blitz on London and as was the case with many I seem to be carrying a great load on my mind.  Threat of invasion and the horrors of mutilated and torn bodies, the continuous crash and thunder of high explosives and the scream of the sirens were taking their toll on men and women and little children, turning the minds of every mortal soul into chaos. People were not themselves. In place of decency and common sense tympanic rape and madness and people were crazy for some relief from this continuous horror. Let no one condemn us we were in our hour of trial and did not fail we weathered the storm as best we could, knowing that our turn would come.

**************************************

Finishing this book will be quite a project. My dad did make it home safely from the war, but never finished his book. He kept what he had written though, and gave it to me. My dad had no way of knowing that I would become a writer.

Now it is my pleasure, and my duty, to finish this book for him. It is not going to be easy, but I will give it a try.

Leave a Reply

