Mothering Sunday – Do I hear my Mother?

None of us really knows what happens after we die. It’s probably a good thing because it may scare us. We all hope we will end up in a better place at least that is what we like to believe.  I hope it’s true but, I have no thoughts one way or the other, I choose not to think about it.

I often sit and have a conversation with my mum and dad. My dad died over twenty years ago and  my mum died around ten years ago. I know, it sounds crazy, but they don’t judge me. I talk about my day, blurt out my problems and ask for help and advice. Of course I don’t get an answer, well not one I can hear. I know they help me though because problems that I talked to them about are often resolved. Impossible situations are often fixed, so I know they hear me.

My mother died in late April of 2002, it doesn’t seem that long ago, but it is almost ten years. My dad died over ten years earlier, just before Easter. Give or take a couple of weeks, they left this world at the same time, only ten years apart.

From late March to mid May (my dad’s birthday was May 15), I feel that they are close to me. When I woke up this morning several doors had been closed during the night. Before he went to bed, my dad would close every door in the little house where I was raised. Things had been moved. It looked liked my house had been organized while I slept. Yes my mum was very tidy.

At times I am sure I can smell her perfume, she liked to wear ‘Tweed’ by Lentheric. This Sunday is ‘Mothering Sunday’ in England. 

‘Mother’s Day’ as it is known here in the US. I always made a fuss of my mum on Mother’s Day and I think she remembers it and comes back to do the same for me.

Laugh at me if you want, but I am telling you that every year between ‘Mothering Sunday’ and my dad’s Birthday on May 15th, they come to visit. I don’t see or hear them, but I do know they are here and they are very welcome.

To read more about ‘Ethel and Wilf’, my mum and dad, check out my short stories from:

My dad inspired me to write, although it took a long time for me to realize it. When I have finished my current novel ‘Dead of July’ I am going to finish a story he started in 1944, about the London Blitz. I hope it makes him proud.

You can keep up to date with my stories her on my blog or by following my Facebook Page  Follow me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

