My second Ghost experience!

At the age of seven, I had my second experience with a ghost! I have changed the names of those involved, including where it happened.

Walton Castle

 

I had a friend who lived at Walton Castle.

Her mum was the housekeeper. Walton Castle was haunted. The castle had been a hospital during the Second World War and I was excited when I was given a tour of the place.

It was incredibly pretty, with beautiful paintings and ornate ceilings that looked like intricately decorated wedding cakes turned upside down. I had been left in one particular room on my own while my friend went and answered the telephone. I wasn’t in the room for long, but it was long enough. The big heavy door had slammed shut all by itself and the room got very cold and fuzzy-looking. It felt like I was looking at everything through frosted glass.

I felt like someone was in the room with me, but couldn’t see anyone, and although it was daylight, it felt dark. I had wanted to get out of the room so badly, but I couldn’t move. I couldn’t even raise my arm.

The whole incident only lasted three or four minutes before the door opened and my friend Shirley appeared, smiling like nothing had happened. The minute she opened the door, I bolted out right past her and didn’t stop running until I got through the big front door. I ran kept running down the big driveway to the bus stop, where I sat for the next hour, refusing to budge.

Shirley, her older sister, her brother and her mum tried to persuade me to come back, but I would not. So instead, they brought my coat and bag to me, along with a sandwich and a drink, and sat with me on the side of the road until the bus came. They asked me what had happened but I was so scared I would not talk about it. That had not been a sunstroke dream at all. That had been a real life, broad daylight scare.

This story is taken from my book ‘Girl on the Beach’ which can be downloaded from Amazon for free in the US and around eighty-six pence in the UK. My other book ‘Guy at the Bar’ is also available in print and as an e-book.

 

Leave a Reply

