My first Ghost

I don’t talk about it very often, I was only four years old. She was my cousin!

I had to stay with an aunt one night. My was a little eccentric, but she was fun. She would heat up the potato chips and serve the apple pie cold. She drank a little too much, but I think it was to kill the pain of her difficult life. She was lovely in her prime. I had seen photos of her and my mum when they were in their early twenties. shiny eyed girls, full of laughter.

I slept in a bed her grand-daughter used to sleep in, before she died of cancer. She died at the age of 8. I had only met her once, but liked her a lot. She was pale and thin, but enjoying every last moment of the life she knew was slipping away from her. 

I needed to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. I slid off the big bed and went to the bathroom without putting switching on the light. The moon was shining in through the window so it wasn’t completely dark. 

I returned to the bedroom and was about to climb into bed, but someone was already there. I stood by the bed for a while, scared to move. 

The moon cast a pale light on the shape under the covers. I recognized her right away. It was the thin shape of Dorothy, my cousin. How could she be there, she had died earlier in the year. I wasn’t scared, I was just confused. Was I dreaming? I rubbed my eyes! I stood there for a while  just watching her. She looked peaceful, but she looked so pale.

I heard movement behind me and turned around. My aunt came and knelt down beside me with tears in her eyes. 

“You see her too don’t you” she said. I nodded in reply.

Dorothy turned her head and looked at us. She smiled and then slowly faded until she could no longer be seen. It was a chilling moment. 

My aunt hugged tightly and I followed her out of the room. I was not afraid, but I didn’t want to sleep in that bed again. I never did! From that moment I had a great respect for my aunt. There was sadness in her once shiny eyes, but there was also love. I wasn’t too sad when she eventually passed away, because I knew Dorothy was waiting for her.

To read my two short ‘Ghost Stories’ click on the links below:

Leave a Reply

