Ghost Month or Candy Fest?

As Halloween approaches we fill our bowls with candy and await the steady flow of neighborhood kids! Is that what the Holiday is about? I think not.

When I was in my teens, and living in England, we didn’t really celebrate Halloween this way. No one knocked at your door seeking candy. Halloween was a non-event for some. For others it was a time to explore the forbidden, and scare yourself.

I would read Ghost stories by candle light, not because there was no electricity, but because I wanted to scare myself.

Someone once told me that if you stood in front of a mirror on Halloween, and recited ‘the Lords prayer’ backwards, you would invoke the Devil.

Yes, I tried it. Scared myself half to death in the process. Needless to say the Devil did not appear. In hindsight, its a very good thing he didn’t appear (assuming the Devil is male) because I am not sure what I would have done had I turned around to see the ugly horned one behind me.

If you have any unusual Halloween experiences to share, let me know.

Take a look at my short stories on Amazon, ‘Girl on the Beach’ is free to download for Kindle (eighty-six pence in the UK) and ‘Guy at the Bar’ is $0.99 or around eighty-six pence in the UK.

Girl on the Beach (US)

Girl on the Beach (UK)

Guy at the Bar Amazon

Guy at the Bar Amazon UK

Follow me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

