Dead of July – I fell for a Russian

If  you read my last ‘Dead of July’ blog, you will know that Sheila had been scared badly by an Evil Russian. She didn’t know if ‘The Evil Cossack’ was dead or alive, but he was doing his utmost to scare her half to death, and it was working!

An Evil and unwelcome visitor

The Story Continues

I think I was only out for a matter of seconds, when I came around, Crock, one of my regular customers was leaning over me. Nice guy, he was actually married to the girl who drove the van before me.

“Are you OK?” he asked.

Surprisingly enough I felt fine and I stood up, more embarrassed than anything. I started laughing,

“I don’t know what happened” I said.

There was still a line of guys waiting to be served, and at the front of the line was a young guy who definitely looked Russian, although he was young and didn’t smell.  He was in a British Army uniform too.

“I am so sorry” I said to him.

He had a big wide grin on his face.

“It’s OK” he said “All of the pretty girls fall over for me”

British Soldiers

Everyone laughed and I got on with my job of supplying the troops with their early morning snack.  Crock looked a little concerned and hung back after everyone was gone just to make sure it was safe for me to drive. We chatted for a while and I told him about the Russian guy, who seemed to be trying to scare me.  He told me to watch out because the Russian Mafia was worse than the Italian Mafia. I thanked him, and told him I was going to talk to the Military Police. He said that was a good idea, and told me to do it on the way out of camp. This was probably the best place to file a report, because it was where the Military Police Headquarters were. If I filed a report here, it would be passed around to all of the other British Army Barracks in the area, and they would all be able to watch out for me and maybe track down who ever it was that wanted to make my life miserable.

This novel ‘Dead of July’ is almost finished and will be published early next year. I will post regular snippets here on my blog, just to whet your appetite.

The story is set in 1982 Germany and follows the adventures of  Sheila, a young girl who is married to a British Soldier posted in Dortmund.

You can read my novella ‘Girl on the Beach’ for free by downloading it from Girl on the Beach (US) for free!

I have published one more novella ‘Guy at the Bar’ which is available from Guy at the Bar Amazon for $0.99.

Both books are also available on Amazon UK for around eighty-six pence: 

Girl on the Beach (UK) 

Guy at the Bar Amazon UK

Follow me on Facebook

2 thoughts on “Dead of July – I fell for a Russian

Leave a Reply

