Distracted but back on track

I have been more than a little distracted lately because of the activity on Amazon with my free eBook. As it stands, almost ten thousand people have downloaded ‘Girl on the Beach’ and hopefully have happily read it. I know for sure that it has been read and enjoyed by at least three people. See below!

This is a pleasant journey through a few ordinary days with a not-so-ordinary 7-year-old girl. It starts with an unusual incident she has on a beach during her last day of summer vacation, and you spend the rest of the book waiting for the other shoe to drop. When it does, towards the end, you won’t necessarily be surprised but it is very well done and will leave you feeling satisfied with the hour you’ve spent listening to her tell you her tale.

A good story, told very well. Sort of a ghost story, without being macabre or creepy. As another reviewer mentioned, you can see early on what’s going to happen, but you don’t mind because it is so well-crafted and paints such a vivid picture of the author’s childhood. I highly recommend it.

I really enjoyed this story, its supernatural feel, its sense of mood and foreboding, and I loved this special little girl who broke my heart. I really felt I got to know Sheila, everything about her, and I found her charming and endearing. The author completely put me into the mindset of this seven-year-old child. And several times, Sheila actually had me tearing up. I knew what she would soon be facing, and it’s always heartbreaking to see a small child face tragedy.

This story is written in such a gentle and natural way, every word smoothly and easily flowing to the next, never sounding forced or hurried. With well-chosen words, this author made me a picture of summer and sand and of a little girl so happy on her holiday. The author then breaks this idyll with feelings of dread, juxtaposing the brightness of summer with the dark foreboding of death.

Told in first-person from Sheila’s point of view, this story is well-written and thoughtful, with the author showing and never telling the story, allowing the reader to experience all that Sheila feels. And you will feel many different emotions, from sadness to happiness, from dread to hope. Even suspecting the outcome of the story, I still felt the chilling beauty of it.

The last review actually brough tears to my eyes. I feel like these three reviewers understood what I was trying to get across in my story, and I thank them for taking the time to write their review.  I will get back to writing, blogging and sharing ghostly experiences, but not tonight. Tonight I am basking in the glory of knowing my stories are being read. 

To download your free copy of  ‘Girl on the Beach’ or purchase ‘Guy at the Bar’ for $0.99 check out the links below.

Leave a Reply

