First Ghost Encounter!

Haunted Walworth Castle

In my short story ‘Girl on the Beach’ I mentioned my first encounter with a ghost, which happened at Walworth Castle. I thought you might find the following interesting, I found it at  Hauntedplaces.co.uk, it tells you why Walworth Castle is haunted.

This castle is now a Best Western Hotel.

Background: The castle, built in 1189, became a privately owned hotel in 1981. The east and west wings were rebuilt during the time of Elizabeth I and in 1759 the north wing was rebuilt. The castle was used by the Durham Light Infantry as an Officer’s Mess and HQ during the war. It then became a school for girls before being refurbished and opened as a hotel. The ghost of a maidservant tells the story.

Ghost story: I didn’t mean to be any trouble. But you have to do as you’re told when you work in the house of a Lord. We had a bit of fun together and I thought he liked me. I knew he wasn’t serious. Why would a Lord want a humble servant girl when he could have his pick of the rich ladies?

He got very angry when he found out I was pregnant. I didn’t want to tell him because I knew he would be mad. The house was having some building work done and he had me bricked up in a spiral staircase. That was a cruel thing to do; I didn’t deserve that horrible death. You can still hear me climbing the stairs which go up to one of the turrets from behind the library.

To read ‘Girl on the Beach’ you can click on the following links:

If you enjoyed this post follow me on Facebook Like my Facebook Page
Leave a Reply

