Mothers Past and Present

Mother Teresa

We all know this is mother Teresa, not my mother, but someone I would like to remember this mothers day, along with Princess Diana and of course Phoebe Ethel Newman – My Mother.

Princess Diana and Mother Teresa died within a week of each other in 1997, neither will be forgotten. Not so many people knew my mother passed, who passed away in April of 2002.

I miss her.

I didn’t think I would because she lived in England and I am here in the US. We only spoke on the phone every couple of months, and that was when I called her. She was in her eighties, getting forgetful, and would tell me the same thing over and over again. I wasn’t as understanding as I should have been, I wish I could go back in time and tell her things, but I can’t.

When I am alone, I sit and talk to her, and then laugh at myself because I would catch my mother alone in a room, seemingly talking to herself at times. I would ask her what she was doing and she would answer “Talking to Grandma”.

We all become our mothers eventually.

To everyone out there, whose mothers have passed away, spend a couple of minutes taking to them, I am sure they will hear you.

Happy Mother’s Day!

2 thoughts on “Mothers Past and Present

  1. What a wonderful, heartfelt post :] I haven’t done anything for Mother’s Day for years, not since I moved out when I was 17. But my step-dad and his wife have been very kind to me lately so I got her chocolates to say thanks, and she seemed to be really happy. I don’t call her mom, but she’s the closest thing I have to a motherly figure in my life.

  2. That was a nice thing to do. I feel really old saying this, but you never truly appreciate people until they aren’t around anymore.
    Take Care

Leave a Reply

