An Encounter with Evil!

Free e-book (Smashwords)

Its been a while since I posted a chapter from my ‘German Ghost Story’ so here it is. I am re-reading the whole story, editing it as I go, to get the  perfect ending. I am hoping to publish this in the fall! Check out the link above to download my first story ‘Girl on the Beach’ for free. Now back to 1982 Germany!

An Encounter with Evil!

I was in business again!  It didn’t take me long to get everything together. I took some birthday cards and trinkets from the gift shop, just to have something extra to sell, and off I went.

I was just about to pull out of camp when a man ran in front of me and thumped the front of the Volvo as he did so. I screeched to a halt thinking I had hit him, but the bang I heard must only have been his fist on the bonnet of the car. This man stood directly in front of me and looked into my eyes. I got a good look at him this time. He was menacing and dark and he looked very angry. He had a big thick, well-groomed mustache and thick dark hair. It resembled the man the man I had been seeing in the shadows for the last week. I immediately locked the car door, but before I could close the window, he was there, his disgusting smell seeping in through the open window.

Evil Russian Face - Image from Cracked.com

“You are going to pay for what you did” he said, with an accent that was heavy and guttural.

I couldn’t speak. I was terrified. This had to be Viktor. There was something evil about this man, how did he know where to find me? Was he following me? I turned and looked over my shoulder, I was going to reverse back into camp, where there were people and I would be safe. I threw the car into reverse and looked in my rearview mirror. He was there behind me. I shifted into first gear and he was there again in front of me. How could he move so fast? There was a loud rapping on the passenger side window, I daren’t look, I squeezed my eyes shut. More rapping! I looked and exhaled loudly. It was Isabelle from the kitchen. I unlocked the doors and let her in.

“What is up with you, you look like you’ve seen a ghost, Sophie told me you might need this” She handed me some insurance documents.

I just sat there with them in my hands.

“Are you OK, you really don’t look well!” she said

“I’ll be OK, someone just walked over my grave” I told her.

“Och! that happens to me all the time” she said with her tinkling Scottish accent “OK then, back to work, enjoy driving the bosses car”

She may have been right! Maybe I was seeing a ghost. Why hadn’t Isabelle seen him and how could he move so fast. I had to get out of the car and looked at the bonnet. The noise was so loud where this man had hit the car; that I was sure it must be dented.  There was no mark there and no sign of the evil-looking man who had been threatening me.  I knew I wasn’t imagining it. Why hadn’t Isabelle mentioned him though?

To check out my other books go to:

Leave a Reply

