German Ghost Story – Chapter 14

 

Paulo Rossi and Diego Maradona - you can still buy the mug!

 

One of the most exciting games in the 1982 World Cup was between Italy and Argentina – two great teams. Two football crazy, temperamental, hot-blooded teams. I enjoyed this game immensely. It adds to the atmosphere of my story, when this game ended in 1982, even though I knew the final score, I could have watched it all over again. If you want to buy an ‘Argentina v. Italy’ mug, you still can, even though this game was 28 years ago.

I have finally managed to get back to writing my story, which I hope to finish in the early spring. I may stick with the name ‘A walk in the park’ or I may not, lets see. Enjoy chapter 14.

Chapter Fourteen

This game ended about twenty minutes after Rossi’s third goal. I had been screaming so much that it was hard for me to talk, which made Les happy because he thought I talked way too much anyway.  He used to say that before I woke up on a morning, my mouth started warming up ready for the day ahead of me.  I just loved life and had a lot to say.  You may wonder why I have talked about football so much! I want you all understand the atmosphere of that summer in 1982.  This was all part of it, sun, music, football, wine, our youth and most importantly, World Cup Fever!  These times pass so quickly. It seems only too soon that we look back and wonder where our youth and those exciting times went. I am speaking from experience when I tell you this .

After Julie and Graham left, I cleared away the food (not that there was much left), while Les got ready for bed, still on a high after the exciting game.  We both were for that matter.

The next BIG games to watch were the semi finals on Thursday when West Germany against France and Italy played against Poland!  Of course because we lived in Germany, and worked and shopped and socialized with the local people, all we got told day in and day out, was that Germany “Vould Vin”.  There was no doubt in the mind of the German people, that the West German team would be the victors. I really hoped that the final battle would be between West Germany and Italy.  It would be a stomach churning, nail-biting final, but that would be one for the record books.  Viva Italia!  Les was already in bed, and I walked through the living room and dining room, closing the wide open windows as it was raining lightly. As I closed the living room window, I peered down to the corner where the dark stranger had been lurking the night before, but there was no one there. I came across to the dining room window and closed that one, and almost jumped out of my skin.  As I closed it I caught a brief reflection of someone was standing in the room behind me, I froze for a moment before turning around, expecting to come face to face with an intruder. I was alone in the room! I think it was just the combination of my overactive imagination, the black tower (wine) and the excitement of the evening.  He had certainly looked real for a split second.  I laughed and went to bed.  Les was already asleep and snoring, the night after guard duty coupled with alcohol always did that to him. I relaxed and got into bed, it had been a good night.

 

Leave a Reply

