Even though we’re a week and a half away from Thanksgiving, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

The First Thanksgiving, painted by Jean Leon G...

The first Thanksgiving

Being British, Thanksgiving still confuses me. It is one month before Christmas and the Christmas lights have already been lit in the towns and cities. Santa is already settled in most stores and malls. Christmas lists have been sent to the North Pole. Christmas parties have been planned. It’s hardly surprising that the weekend before Thanksgiving I panic for a moment, thinking I only have a couple of days left to complete my Christmas shopping.

Then I remember, the upcoming feast is for Thanksgiving and I still have a month in which to get my shopping before Christmas

My first Thanksgiving was in 1995. We had lived in America for nine months and we wondered what all of the fuss was about. We still lived in an apartment, but were in the process of having a house built. We made weekly trips to monitor the builders progress. What started in July as a hole in the ground, was almost a home by the end of October and we were very excited.

During our visits to our new community, we made friends with lots of people, all of whom had recently moved to this new community. We were invited to street parties, picnics and eventually Thanksgiving.

I experienced pumpkin pie for the very first time, and to my surprise, enjoyed it. I also enjoyed pecan pie. I couldn’t eat the sweet potatoes with marshmallows melted on top, that was a little to weird for me, but all in all, it was a lovely day. A family day, and we were honored to be invited to share it.

How we came to buy the house is another story involving a young man called Chuck and his college ‘Patti’. I will enjoy telling you about that encounter another time. Our lives are richer for having met Chuck, Patti and their families and I am sorry they all live so far away now.

Leave a Reply

