Drinking in the Roman history

In the last eight days or so, I have seen more historical sites than I have seen in my whole life.

You can feel the emotion tied to the sites, especially the coliseum and Pompei. It is incredible and terrible to imagine how the gladiators felt as they entered the arena to face wild animals and sure death. I have stood in the ruins of Pompei and looked at Vesuvius, trying to imagine what it must have been like to see the hot molten lava bearing down on you.

These are stories that have been told over and over again, but until you stand in those places its hard to identify with what happened.

This experience will help my writing career. I may never write about Pompeii, or Gladiators, but if I do, I have already done my research. If you get the opportunity to visit places like this, don’t hesitate to take them and imagine yourself in the time period to feel what it was like.

Leave a Reply

