Moving to America – Farewell England

Farewell England

We sat and ate breakfast in silence.  Jo was excited, Lester was just his usual unruffled self. For me was exciting and scary all at the same time.  My emotions were all over the place.  I had been given such a GREAT farewell party from my friends at work, and a surprise party from another friend. That one really was a surprise. My friends all seemed to be much closer and meat more to me when I knew I would probably never see them again.  Everyone promised to stay in touch.  Some have! We finished our breakfast and went and sat in the passenger lounge waiting for our flight. Someone tapped me on the shoulder. Surprise!  Our good friends, Gail and Graham showed up with champagne and orange juice. Wow, they really were trying to make us cry! We were leaving all of this behind!  I swallowed hard and fought back the tears. Shortly after this, another familiar face appeared, it was Joanna’s best friends Sophie and Debbie, accompanied by Sophie’s mum Linda!  We had never had so much attention, this was a real send off.  What had we ever done to deserve this?  

All good things have to come to an end though and our flight was called.  We gave big hugs to everyone, I didn’t cry, although my friend Gail did.  Jo was too hyped up and excited to cry.  She was acting like the celebrity, which everyone convinced her she would be one day, it was pretty funny. We left our friend and entered the ‘zone’ from which there is no return, and sat and awaited our flight.  Farewell England and everything we knew. 

 

Leave a Reply

